Sailors who complete BUD/S and the SEAL Qualification Training are designated SEALs and receive the Special Warfare insignia for their uniform. More commonly known as the SEAL Trident, this gold insignia is worn on the breast and is one of the most recognizable of all navy insignias. The trident is also the only insignia that is the same for officers and enlisted men, which is partly due to their combined training during BUD/S.

The Navy SEAL Ethos reinforces these warriors’ commitment to integrity, loyalty, and discipline. The values of the SEALs are summed up in the SEAL Code:


  • Loyalty to Country, Team, and Teammate
  • Serve with Honor and Integrity On and Off the Battlefield
  • Ready to Lead, Ready to Follow, Never Quit
  • Take responsibility for your actions and the actions of your teammates
  • Excel as Warriors through Discipline and Innovation
  • Train for War, Fight to Win, Defeat our Nation’s Enemies
  • Earn your Trident every day

Navy SEALs continue to be leaders in modern warfare. Their versatility and adaptability see them continue to be sent to war zones around the world to protect American citizens and U.S. interests. The Navy has suggested that future SEAL Training will focus on returning to their roots, including diving, swimming, reconnaissance and working with submersibles, to prepare for the wars of the future and help bolster the strength of Naval forces.